Get advice on hiring, finding your dream job,

employee engagement, and workplace training

HR Leaders: Could You Be a 2017 Gary Willis Leadership Award Winner?

  • Article by:Health Career Center

Are you an HR manager or director who has made outstanding contributions to your organization? If so, you could be the next recipient of the prestigious Gary Willis Leadership Award.

Awarded by AHA Health Forum in partnership with the American Society for Healthcare Human Resources Administration (ASHHRA), the Gary Willis Leadership Award is awarded to two people each year who have shown a strong commitment to leadership and operational excellence. The Award honors the memory of Gary Willis, an ASHHRA board member, who passed away in 2010 after a battle with cancer.

The deadline for submission of applications or nominations is May 31, 2017.


The Honors

Each winner will receive a Conference Award supporting his or her attendance at ASHHRA 2017, with ASHHRA covering full ASHHRA 2017 conference registration, 3 nights’ hotel, and airfare.

This year’s winners will be announced at the ASHHRA 53rd Annual Conference & Exposition, Sept. 16 – 19, 2017, in Seattle. Winners must attend the Welcome Reception and Awards Ceremony on Saturday, Sept. 16, 2017, at 4 p.m., where they will each be presented with an additional $1,000 check.


Contribute to Health Care HR’s Brighter Future

If you believe you or an HR colleague have made outstanding contributions to organizational leadership and operational excellence, submit your application or nomination by Friday, May 31, 2017.

To learn more about award application requirements; Gary Willis; and last year’s winner, Lotus Yon, visit AHA Health Forum’s Gary Willis Leadership Award page.

Questions? Please contact Felicia Bloom at 312.895.2569 or